…oh so clever little ruse.
Like a number of folk round this here interweb I got a bunch of spam yesterday from info@worldswidedomainname.com about “Notice Regarding Your DOMAIN NAME” where they claim to have partnered up with the hosting company LunarPages, when in reality the partnership is no more than someone who has signed up to the LunarPages affiliate scheme and is trying to get the reader to click on an affiliate link – much like the LunarPages links I’ve just put up
.
OK just another bit of standard spam, like everyone gets every day in abundance but then today I’ve got a ton of replies/redirects/bounces to this mail in my inbox. Why? I never sent it, it’s got nowt to do with me why the bloody hell am I getting stick for it.
It’s because one of my email addresses is in the mail as the reply to address – the bastard. Looks like the sender has scraped the whois database for some nice addresses, so I’m getting angry mails telling me not to spam them or asking why I am.
Thankfully the spammers hosting company have shut down the site and LunarPages – there’s that link again – have terminated his affiliate account.
Skillet and Dynamoo’s Blog (part I, part II) have some more details, including the full original spam mail.
One thing is I was going to change the email I used for my domains this will get my arse finally into gear.

UEFA Cup Final 2007 - Espanyol v Sevilla



